Koh Tao: the end!

✋ Hiya from…NORTHERN IRELAND!!

Yep. We are home! Although you probably all know this by now! I still can’t quite believe our year of adventure is over. But all good things must come to an end 🔚

Our final week in Thailand consisted of a whole load of relaxation, snorkelling, more relaxation, too many mojitos, and oh yeah! an engagement 💍

As soon as we arrived in Bangkok we got the sleeper train to Koh Tao – we didn’t want to waste a minute of island time! We ditched our big backpacks in a hostel so we didn’t have much to carry. We chilled with a Singha before heading to the train station. The train turned out to be a pretty horrible experience 🚂👎 we seemed to have got stuck in the noisiest carriage EVER! It was impossible to get a decent sleep. But knowing Koh Tao was just a few hours away made it a little more bearable.

image

Singha's at Lub D!

As soon as we got to Koh Tao we got checked into old trusty Nat Resort. Then it was time for lunch, a nap and sunset beers 🌅🍻 It felt SO good to be back.
image

image

I was so glad to see this on Sairee Beach!


image

The next day we woke up to torrential rain ☔ not ideal! But it was a good excuse to go back to sleep. So when we woke up at 10am the sun was shining and there was no sign of the rain – one of the best things about Thai weather!

We were so excited to get back into the sea. The water in SA was so rough that we hadn’t been in the sea properly in months! This time in KT the tide was in all day so it made for perfect swimming conditions. It was just like being in a massive bath 🛁🏊   The whole day was taken up with sunbathing, swimming and eating ham baps in our favourite cafe Through the Looking Glass!

image

Perfection!

The night before we bumped into a girl Jonny went to uni with (what a small world) so we had sunset beers with Debbie after a perfect day at the beach.
image

That evening was spent having more Singha’s and watching the fire dancers on the beach.
image
image

Our plan for the next day was to go to one of our fave snorkel spots at Aow Leuk to search for sharks. Unfortunately the weather didn’t like that idea so we went a quick walk to Mae Haad before getting caught in the rain ☔👎

That evening we went out for a yummy Thai dinner at Su Chilli. The plan was to go for a couple of beers on the beach again but we got sucked into Diza bar with their sign for 100baht (£2) Mojitos 🍹

image

Mojito o'clock!

A few too many mojitos later and I found myself having a midnight swim 🌚🏊 Jonny had no choice but to join me. I can remember making the awful decision to get on his shoulders and him making the even worse decision to make me “somersault” backwards…

The next morning I woke up to evidence of a kebab all over my pj top and a newly purchased bracelet that I have no recollection of buying. I also had the headache from hell & a bruised back from that “somersault” 😈 Not. Fun.

Jonny had booked new accommodation for us so we had to check out at 10am – a very difficult experience with my brain banging around my head. We went and had a nap on the beach before getting picked up at 1pm.

My hangover quickly disappeared when we checked into the most gorge villa – The Rocks Villas 😍 Jonny was back to being my most favourite person ever!

image

The view!

We chilled out in our beautiful sea view villa for a while before heading down to the amazing infinity pool.

image

The amazing pool!

The sky turned a little grey around 4pm so we headed back up to the villa and I slept off the remainder of my hangover. Jonny was doing work on the hammock and at 6.30pm he came shouting in such a fluster that he didn’t realise it was that late (he still had the laptop on UK time and had worked out the time difference wrong…) I had no idea why he was acting so strange. He told me he had reserved a table in my fave KT restaurant Barracuda for 7pm. It was lashing at this stage and the thought of going for dinner was not pleasant (our villa was a 20 minute walk into town).

Jonny continued to act strange – he put all our bags into the bedroom to “help me get ready quickly”. He also closed the curtains and told me it was because people could see into the room when I was getting ready (it was a private villa.) I was SO confused. But I took the help and got ready in record time 🕡💨🕖

I came out of the room at 7pm to find the balcony covered in candles & orchids and Jonny was down on one knee with the ring 💍 I took a fit of giggles and didn’t really know what to do 😂😂 of course I said yes!
image
image
image
image

The next surprise was Ed from Barracuda arriving with dinner which he plated up for us to eat on the balcony. I managed to eat the delish garlic prawns but the excitement was too much and I couldn’t eat my main course 🙈 (it got microwaved around midnight once my appetite came back!)

It really was the perfect engagement for me and the fact it happened on my favourite Thai island made it even better – Jonny did good 😎  Although he had planned on it being a little different…he had planned to do it at the pool with sunset beers (the girl who owned the villa had asked the people from the other two villas to clear the pool by 6pm 😂) But the Thai weather was not on our side again!!

I also found out after that he had asked for my dad’s permission when they were out with us in South Africa in December! I couldn’t believe that my dad had known the whole time 😱

We spent the rest of that night telling our friends & family. For Jonny it was a bit like Christmas morning. He had planned it for so long and after it was all over he was exhausted 😴 I ended up finishing the Champagne that our neighbours from the bottom villa had sent up for us 🍷

The next day was our last full day & night in Koh Tao. It was a little emotional 😥 we spent the final day enjoying the infinity pool & had lunch delivered to our room. We watched sunset from the balcony and went out for our last supper.
image

We left the island the next day on the ferry; bussed it to the train station; ate some dinner and then the 10 hour sleeper train back to Bangkok began.

We arrived in Bangkok around 6am and made our way back to the hostel we had left our bags in. This was the exact hostel that we had started our journey in back in April. They very kindly checked us in so we could get some sleep before our final day in Bangkok. We spent the day shopping and getting our final fix of Thai food. The last Singha’s were drank and at 10pm we made our way to Suvarnabhumi airport.

One 7 hour flight to Dubai, a 9 hour flight to Dublin and a 90minute drive to Belfast and we were home.

The decision to go travelling was the BEST decision we have ever made. I would 100% do it all over again! It’s been so lovely to catch up with friends and family but I’m already looking forward to our next travel adventure (honeymoon perhaps? 😂)

I’ll do one more blog to update you on the almost failed surprise reunion last Thursday! But this marks the end of my blogs from being on the road – I think I might cry…

Thanks so much to everyone who has religiously followed our journey over the past year. I hope I have inspired some of you to see more of the world 🌍

Lots of love x

Leave a Reply

